top of page

Hero Girl

Diana aced speech therapy! However, she will continue with another month of physical therapy because her balance is unsteady still. Sadly, she doesn’t love it. I should say here that Superior Physical Therapy rocks. She just doesn’t love exercise. I get it. A friend recently put up a saying in her home that I love. “Isn’t it funny that exercise sounds like extra fries?” Diana and I would rather have the extra fries for sure!

Hyperbaric Oxygen therapy continues. Today we celebrated finishing 23 dives. Although the word dive makes it seem like she is in water, it is air. She sits in a tank that is pressurized to a depth of 16.5 feet below sea level. I don’t completely get what it does so I am not the best person to be writing this. But essentially, it allows more oxygen into the cells and enables the brain  to heal. The Hyperbaric and Healing Center treats us well. She tests next week to monitor her memory and cognition improvements. I can tell a difference in the speed and depth of her speech. And her left eye is getting faster a better at moving. 

A cool package came yesterday! A group called Kid Wishes helps hospitals to award their patients. The motto of Primary Children’s Hospital is “Release Your Inner Hero.” And Diana was awarded the January Hero Award. She received a $100 gift card, a t-shirt, teddy bear and certificate. Her response? “Wow that’s cool. I don’t feel l am the hero. God created the miracle in me. He gets all the credit.” But she still smiled! Beautiful.


bottom of page