top of page

Thanksgiving Thoughts

This evening, Diana was more alert than I have seen her before. She really does not like that feeding tube up her nose. Her best way to communicate is when we say, "Thumbs up if......" So I said, "Thumbs up if you would like some water in your mouth." Now this is a big deal because if she can swallow she can get her feeding tube out. She gave a thumbs up. I said we would get her some and the nurse used a sponge on the end of a lollipop stick. On command she could purse her lips and try to suck the moisture out of the sponge.

She is definitely there and understands what is going on. We just need her to start talking. I am sure she wants to but her jostled brain just can't send the signals right now.

This has been quite a detour in our life's journey. For me, the peace comes when I need it. The hope is there. Doubt slithers its way around my thoughts and I rely on the comfort I have felt. I've cried. I've prayed. Sleep comes slowly. I just want to hear her laugh again.


bottom of page